Seasons

Where to begin? I’ve been trying to write this post all week, but the words just won’t flow. I sit staring at the blank screen knowing what I need to say, but unsure how to say it.

I’m moving.

There. That wasn’t so bad.

The truth is most of you already knew about my plans so this really isn’t news, but somehow writing about it makes it feel so final. Concrete. Unchangeable. Which it is. But still.

In early March I’ll be moving to Wyebrook Farm to start an apprenticeship in sustainable agriculture. My journey from processed to real foods has been the main impetus in all of this. The more I learn about the industrial food system, the further away from it I want to run! Call me a control freak, but the surest way to know what you are eating is to grow and raise it yourself, right?

While I am incredibly excited about this new opportunity, I’m also very sad to be leaving Brooklyn. For the first time since college, I have felt truly at home. I love my neighborhood, my church, my farmers’ market. I have the most amazing group of friends without whom I doubt I would have had the courage to pursue such a drastic life change. When I shared my plans with the women in my life group, I was overwhelmed by their support and enthusiasm.

My hope is to spend a few years studying and learning on different farms and to transition into some sort of non-profit NGO work, either here or overseas, that deals with sustainable agricultural. But that is a long way off so I’ll just have to wait and see what God has in store.

And finally, a quote from Thomas Jefferson regarding my new profession: “Cultivators of the earth are the most valuable citizens. They are the most vigorous, the most independent, the most virtuous, and they are tied to their country and wedded to its liberty and interests by the most lasting bands.”

Sorry, I couldn’t resist!

31 January 2013. That's Life.

One Comment

  1. Aunt Jeanette replied:

    I wish you well in your new adventure

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

