Cold

I’m still here! January’s been a busy month and I’ve been rather distracted, but more on that later. For now, here is a life update.

We’ve been having quite the cold spell here in NYC. It’s too cold to run. Too cold to take pictures. Too cold to write. Too cold to do much of anything but snuggle up in bed with a good book or movie. Or Downton Abbey!

20130125_0001

(I may not like cold, but snow is so pretty!)

I REALLY don’t like the cold. It’s borderline irrational.

20130125_0002

The problem is that my 2nd half marathon is just 4 short weeks away and I am not ready. In fact, I didn’t run at all last week because it was too cold. Well, it was cold and I was feeling lazy. I have a treadmill so “cold” isn’t really a valid excuse.

A little over a week ago, I went for what should have been a short 3 mile run in the cold and ended up face planting because my feet were completely numb. Aside from a skinned knee and wounded pride I was fine, but there is some lingering resentment and wariness towards my neighborhood’s uneven sidewalks.

Needless to say I am embracing the inevitable reality that there will be walking involved in this half marathon and that no PRs (personal records) will be set.

When I was training over the summer, people constantly asked me how I managed in the heat. I didn’t really have an answer. I just did. It really didn’t bother me. Now that I am training in the winter, I can confidently say I’d take the heat over the cold any day. I am ready for summer. Or a warmer climate. (It has been consistently 15-20 degrees warmer in Iceland than it has been here in Brooklyn…I think I’d be quite happy in Reykjav√≠k. Anyone want to join me?)

The one thing it hasn’t been too cold for is cooking. None of my experiments are terribly well documented so I apologize for the lack of pictures. Again, I blame the cold for my laziness.

I made cheese for the first time! Just ricotta. It was delicious and I couldn’t believe how easy it was! I’m currently working on a batch of cottage cheese and hope to try mozzarella soon.

I used the ricotta to make whole wheat raspberry ricotta scones which were very good and so pretty! I used all whole wheat and they turned out just fine.

On the savory side, Mabel has been hard at work keeping my soup stocks up. I’ve made tomato bisque multiple times now using the tomatoes I canned over the summer! After all, is there anything better on a cold winter day than a bowl of tomato soup with a side of grilled cheese?

27 January 2013. No Sleep Til Brooklyn, Real Food, Running, That's Life.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

