Sophomore Slump

We all know about the proverbial sophomore slump. Downton Abbey’s 2nd season wasn’t nearly as good as the first. Mumford & Sons much-anticipated 2nd album failed to live up to the hype. Most people agree that “Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets” (the 2nd book) was the worst in the HP series. And let’s not even talk about The Matrix. Or worse, Star Wars.

I have found myself in a bit of a sophomore slump when it comes to running. My second race is in 13½ weeks, but I am struggling to run regularly. I’ve lost some of my drive. With one race under my belt, I no longer feel the intense pressure to train lest I humiliate myself by passing out at mile 7.

Before it was a question of ability. I wasn’t sure I could do it and that uncertainty compelled me. Now that I know that I can, it’s entirely a question of will. Which apparently I lack.

I still like running. And my body wants to run. It just hasn’t been a priority of late. When I was training for my first race, running came before everything. Lately I’ve been more inclined to turn down a chance to run in favor of grabbing dinner with a friend after work.

It doesn’t help that it’s cold and dark when I wake up and cold and dark when I get home. But for the weekends, I’m pretty much stuck training on my treadmill. I am thankful for my treadmill, but it just isn’t the same. A three-mile run outside feels so much more manageable than a three-mile run on a treadmill.

I have been hemming and hawing and fighting the inevitable for 2 months now. It is time to start running again. No more excuses. It is time for a long overdue date with these guys:

20 November 2012. Tags: , , , , . Running.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

