Chocolate Chunk Zucchini Muffins

I had a shockingly productive weekend.

I went to a concert on Friday night (in Manhattan no less). I came home, changed, had dinner with a friend and then went back in to the city. Anyone who knows me is shocked. Apart from work, I avoid the island like the plague. A good weekend is one that doesn’t require me to go into the city at all. But this was really fun! The band was Zach Williams and the Bellow. Go check them out. Zach also happens to be the minister of music at my church. I’m not biased or anything.On Saturday I got up and went to the farmers’ market with a friend where I stocked up on kale, mushrooms, zucchini, tomatoes and cucumbers. Yum! This was followed by a 13 MILE RUN!!

Yes, you read that right. 13 miles. One-tenth of a mile shy of race distance. I am ready!

After running 13 miles, I felt I deserved a cupcake, but I knew the sugar would make me crazy. So instead of wandering down to Butterlane or Sweet Melissa’s for a refined-flour, refined-sugar, nutrient-devoid cupcake that I’d surely come to regret, I made muffins!

The first batch I made were RiddleLove’s Grain-free Chocolate Chunk Zucchini Muffins. (Click the link for the recipe.)

I cut the recipe in half and subbed unsweetened applesauce for half of the coconut oil (2T of each). I was a little worried about doing this as coconut flour is extremely absorbent and I was concerned I’d end up with hockey pucks instead of muffins, but it worked out just fine. I wouldn’t try substituting applesauce for all of the oil. Other than that, I followed her recipe exactly.

These little gems were delicious! And pretty healthy as far as muffins go. There’s almost a quarter cup of shredded zucchini hidden in each one. (She said the recipe makes 24 muffins so in theory, my halved version should have made 12, but I only got 8.) And don’t let the coconut flour, coconut oil, and coconut sugar scare you. They don’t taste coconut-y at all.

I will definitely be making these again. Probably in the near future. However, next time I think I will cut back on the chocolate and add some walnuts or pecans. Less sugar. More protein. Then I could justify adding some cream cheese frosting…

29 August 2012. Tags: , , , , , , , , . Real Food, Recipes/Reviews.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

