Maple Sweet Potato Pecan Burgers

Every Wednesday night I get together with a group of women from my church for “life group.” We share a meal, pray, and invest in each others’ lives. In a city like NYC where relationships can be very transient and superficial, it’s nice to have a place where you can go to know and be known. These woman are a huge part of why I am so in love with life in Brooklyn!

Last week I hosted our weekly gathering and for dinner I made these maple sweet potato pecan burgers (click the link for the recipe). Don’t let the 19 steps in the recipe scare you! These veggie burgers were super easy and delicious! I will definitely be making them again and everyone took the leftovers home for lunch the next day.

A few things thoughts from my experience making them.

1. Do not boil the sweet potatoes. This added too much moisture and I had to bake the burgers much longer than 45 minutes to fully dry them out. The recipe said to microwave spuds, but I don’t really like to microwave things if I can help it. I should’ve baked them, but boiling is just so much faster. Next time, I will know better.

2. Make the quinoa a day in advance. This will also help with the hydration levels. Just-cooked quinoa can still be quite damp. Letting it sit overnight in the fridge allows it to fully absorb every last drop of liquid.

3. Use butter. Butter is delicious. Butter is real food. It has one ingredient. Maybe 2 if you buy salted butter. Butter is way better for you than fake butter. Buy good quality butter from humanely-raised, grass-fed cows. If you can’t bear the thought of using butter, use coconut oil. But please don’t use processed vegan buttery spread. Ever. NOT real food. Even if it is “100% all natural.” Your grandmother wouldn’t have eaten it and neither should you.

4. Use fresh kale. I used frozen because it was what I had on hand. Goes back to the hydration problem. There was just way too much water between the boiled potatoes, quinoa, and frozen kale (which I thawed and tried to dry out in the oven…this did not go as well as I’d hoped). Fresh is always better when it’s available. If kale isn’t your thing, you could substitute chopped spinach.

5. The recipe says it makes 4 burgers. I doubled the recipe and ended up with 16. I admit that mine were a bit on the small side, but had I just made 8 the would have been HUGE. I think that if you made the recipe as written, you could easily get 6 good-sized burgers out of it.

6. The caramelized onions (cooked in real butter) make the dish. Then again, I’d put caramelized onions on just about anything. I actually think that given the choice between caramelized onions and cake, I’d choose the onions.

 

 

 

 

 

 

23 August 2012. Tags: , , , , , . Recipes/Reviews.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

