October Unprocessed

October is still ages away, but I wanted to go ahead and share this with you all.

Back in 2009 Andrew Wilder over at Eating Rules decided to go a whole month without eating any processed foods. Not only did he survive the month, he felt great! In 2010, he challenged his readers to join him in what had been dubbed “October Unprocessed.” Last year, over 3,000 people signed the pledge to not eat processed foods for a month!He’s doing it again this year and I am in! Anyone want to join me?

October Unprocessed 2012

The rules are simple: don’t eat anything you couldn’t/wouldn’t make from scratch.

Easy enough, right?

“Well,” you might say, “I can and do make chocolate chip cookies from scratch. Can I eat them during October Unprocessed?”

If that’s how you want to define “unprocessed,” then yes you can.

That’s the beauty of Andrew’s challenge. It keeps things simple and gives people room to create their own definition of “unprocessed.” Is a homemade cookie the best choice? Of course not. Is it better than a Chips Ahoy? Absolutely! (Especially if you use a healthy sweetener, whole wheat flour, grass-fed butter and all-natural chocolate chips.)

The goal isn’t for you to feel miserable and deprived for a month and if giving up chocolate chip cookies would make you feel that way, then don’t! The goal is to make people more aware of what they eat. And, hopefully, as you cut out some of the processed stuff, you start to feel healthier.

Whether it’s a day, a week or the whole month, join me and take the challenge!

Over the next few weeks, I’ll do some posts about making the transition to a less processed way of eating based on my own experiences these past few months. If there’s a specific topic you are curious about, let me know.

*Note: I will actually be starting the challenge on September 22 so that I can end it on October 23. I head to Iceland (!!!) on October 24th and don’t want to have to think too much about what I’m eating while I’m there.

9 August 2012. Tags: , . Healthy Living.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

