Kale Chips

Kale chips have been all the rage of the blog world of late. Seems everyone is just raving about how wonderful they are.

I was skeptical.

When I am craving a chip, I want something crisp and salty. I’ve tried my own “chips” before – apple, sweet potato, etc. – without much luck. No matter how long I cook them, they always seem to come out on the mushy side. And while these experiments rarely taste bad, they certainly don’t satisfy a chip craving.

Last week at the farmer’s market, my eyes were bigger than my stomach and I bought a LOT of kale. I ate a giant kale salad every day for lunch and still had a bunch left over. I didn’t want to throw it out, but couldn’t bear the thought of eating one more kale salad so I thought “What the heck! Why not see what all the hype is about?” I figured if it failed, I could toss the experiment for a lot less guilt than tossing perfectly good raw salad greens.

And now I am addicted. Kale chips are delicious! They are crispy and salty and wonderful. This might just be my new go-to snack. I even made a batch last night to take to work as a snack and they held up wonderfully.

Here’s how you make them.

I grabbed 4 stems of kale (which is how much I use for a salad base – I wanted to get my full serving of greens). I used curly leaf, but dinosaur/lacinato should work, too, though I haven’t tried it yet.

Preheat the oven to 350°F.

Tear the leaves into bit sized pieces and discard the stem. Toss with 1 teaspoon of olive oil until all of the leaves are lightly coated.

One teaspoon is enough. I promise. It won’t seem like it, but you don’t want the leaves drenched.

Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper and spread the oiled leaves out in a single layer. Sprinkle with whatever seasonings you like. I used sea salt and 1.5 tablespoons of grated parmesan cheese. You could use garlic salt, crushed red pepper, hot sauce, cinnamon & sugar – the possibilities are endless!

Bake them for 12-15 minutes until they are crisp. They will shrink up a lot. Like a Shrinky Dink! Anyone know what I’m talking about? Clearly I am a product of the 90s.

That’s it. They are that simple. Only slightly more time and effort than popping a bag of popcorn (and healthier and tastier). The recipe makes 1 cereal bowl-sized serving and comes to around 110 calories.

The batch I made actually filled this bowl completely, but I forgot to take a picture before I started eating them. Halfway through I remembered…

 

 

16 July 2012. Healthy Living, Just Enough, Recipes/Reviews.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

