Summer’s Bounty

I love living close to home! And by “close” I mean within a day’s drive. Compared to South Carolina (college) and China (post-college), New York is practically next door to my family. It’s nice to be able to visit on a whim should I feel like it.

It’s also nice for days like yesterday. My parents came to visit. Just for the day. And my father the farmer came bearing a paper bag filled with garden goodies!

Cukes. Squash. Onions. Tomatoes. Eggplant. It doesn’t get any better.

I see ratatouille in my future.

I have the best daddy in the whole world. That is a statement of fact, not opinion.

Their visit had a purpose. Next week my mom’s side of the family will be converging on Tybee Island, GA and I was selected to fly to Florida to act as chauffeur for my grandparents. I knew I wouldn’t be able to fit 10 days worth of stuff into a carry on, but have flown enough to know that checking bags is NEVER a good idea. I envisioned myself sitting on the beach in GA in the same clothes I flew down in trying to explain to Delta that yes, my flight did terminate in Daytona, but I need my bags delivered to Savannah. It just wasn’t a good plan.

So my wonderful parents trekked up to Brooklyn to pick up 95% of my beach gear. They are driving down so it will go with them and I’ll be able to get by with just a carry on bag.

We went to the Brooklyn Flea and then just wandered around the neighborhood. It was the first really nice Saturday in weeks! The past few have been miserably hot. We enjoyed just being outside.

After they left, I wanted to continue soaking up the beautiful day so I grabbed my camera and headed to the park. Without further ado, some shots from my Saturday meanderings. (I just discovered how to insert a gallery instead of individual shots! Score. Click on the photos to make them bigger.)

15 July 2012. No Sleep Til Brooklyn, Photography, That's Life.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

