A Sailor’s Life is the Life for Me

What a month it has been! It kicked off with my mom’s birthday party, followed by a visit from Amanda, Joel & Aiden, and wrapped up last week with a trip to Baltimore. It’s been great and I wouldn’t take back any of it, but I am certainly looking forward to a lazy weekend in Brooklyn.

Fair warning: this post is long. There’s just so much to share!Baltimore was fantastic! Back in February, Laura came across a Living Social deal for a 2-hour introduction to sailing class. Of course we signed up. We decided to make a long weekend of it so I took Friday off and caught an early bus. This turned out to be a very wise decision since Justin Bieber was performing in Rockefeller on The Today Show which would have made my morning commute rather miserable. Instead of heading right into the fray, I was safely on my way out of the city as he took the stage.

We kicked off the weekend with a walk in the park with Lindsey, Rosa, & Rosa’s son Josh. Isn’t he adorable?

“Auntie” Laura busted out the bubbles.

And I got a little carried away taking pictures. Don’t worry. I’m only posting a few.

Josh made this face whenever Laura blew
a particularly big bubble. It was precious.

I’m not sure who had the most fun: Josh or Laura (or those of us watching them!).

Best photo of the weekend:

After the park, we walked Josh and Rosa home and Laura, Lindsey and I headed back to Laura’s to bake some cupcakes for Danielle’s birthday.

We met up with Danielle and her friends at Belvedere Square for dinner, drinks, music and cupcakes. Every Friday throughout the summer, there is a free concert and I was lucky enough to be down for the Beatles tribute band! Food vendors abounded, many specializing in delicious MD crab dishes. The crab sliders I’d been eying sold out so I settled on a porchetta sandwich (delicious!) followed by a tiny cup of homemade honey graham ice cream. The Funfetti cupcakes we made were also a big hit.

(Christin & Laura)

(Lindsey enjoying her ice cream)

Friends!

(I was not as successful at staying
behind the camera this weekend.)

And that was just Friday!

Saturday began with a 4.5 mile run. Poor Laura! This was my first time running with someone and my first time running when I didn’t know where I was going. My tendency to zone out kept kicking in and Laura would have to flag me down because she’d made a turn and I was still going straight. Also, Baltimore is much hill-ier than Brooklyn. I was completely unprepared for this. Needless to say, it was not the leisurely run I’d envisioned, but it was still a great start to the day.

After breakfast, we slathered on our sunscreen and headed to Annapolis for our sailing lesson. I left my camera in the car because I wasn’t sure how much spray we’d encounter and didn’t want to take a chance on dropping it overboard. So I apologize for these not-so-good phone photos.

Ugh. That’s all I can bear to post. Next time there will be better pictures. And there will be a next time.

After the lesson, I made Laura wait so I could try to get some decent shots from the dock. I took several before realizing I was in manual mode and the photos were completely overexposed. Oops!

Thankfully, I noticed and fixed the settings.

Needless to say, I’ve found my calling. A sailor’s life is the life for me.

We made our way back to Baltimore and spent the evening grilling(!!!), making froyo, watching Thor, and just hanging out.

On Sunday we slept in and then headed to her church’s late service. After church we got brunch to-go from a quirky little diner called Paper Moon – crab melts (I mean, I couldn’t go to Baltimore and not eat crab!) and a shared bacon milkshake. Our original plan had been to eat there, but it being Father’s Day and all, we decided not to wait on a table. Plus, it was beautiful out and we got to enjoy one last meal in her back yard. For those of you who are wondering, the bacon milkshake was amazing. I plan on creating a healthier, refined sugar-free, Greek froyo version…just as soon as I get an ice cream maker.

And that was our weekend! Pretty perfect, if you ask me.

19 June 2012. That's Life.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

