Turkey Pesto Meatballs

A friend of mine recently decided she needed to learn how to cook and asked me to help her.

Never has the saying “the blind leading the blind” been more appropriate.

Still, cooking with friends is always fun (and having someone to help you eat the final product is nice, too!) so I agreed.  Tuesday was our first “lesson.”

We started with roasted veggies. It doesn’t get easier than that, right? Dice squash zucchini and cherry tomatoes all tossed with olive oil, salt and pepper and cooked for about 20 minutes at 350°F.

Normally I would roast squash at 400°F for 15 minutes, but we needed the oven set at 350°F for our meatballs.

We used this recipe from The Kitchn and followed it exactly.

Heather crushed the tomatoes, using her hands per the recipe instructions. I HATE getting my hands dirty so the thought of sticking them in a bowl of soggy tomatoes made me a bit queasy. She actually found the crushing process to be rather therapeutic. So cooking this particular dish together was definitely a win win. Meanwhile, I diced the onion and garlic. Into the pot it all went to simmer for an hour or so.

Meanwhile, we got to work on the meatballs. Again, sticking my hands into a bowl of ground turkey, eggs, breadcrumbs and pesto sounded like torture so Heather took (another) one for the team and mixed everything up while I greased the pans. I then proceeded to watch her form the mush into balls.

Don’t judge. I was the observant teacher giving my pupil room to experience cooking first hand. I didn’t want to simply lecture and demonstrate. It’s all about hands-on student participation. Literally. Plus, she enjoyed it. Everyone was happy.

The final product was delicious! And so easy. This recipe is a keeper.

The whole process was so fun (nothing caught fire!) that we are talking about making it a weekly ritual. Stay tuned for more of of Becca & Heather’s kitchen adventures.

(I apologize for the lack of pictures, but we cooked at Heather’s and it was raining so I decided to leave my camera at home where it would be safe and dry. I took these two with my phone. They say the best camera is the one you have with you…)

13 June 2012. Recipes/Reviews.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

