Writer’s Block

I haven’t felt much like writing the past week or so.

Part of it is that I haven’t taken many pictures and a post with photos is so much more exciting than a post without.

And part of it is that I just haven’t had anything to write about. Life is good, but not terribly exciting at the moment.I could do a food/health post as I haven’t done one in a while, but I really just don’t feel like doing the research for it right now.

The long weekend was great. On Saturday I went for a run, went to the farmers’ market, and laid out in the park until I was burnt to a crisp. That afternoon I made cookies and brownies with Allyson and Camille and we took them to the women’s shelter. We weren’t actually allowed to go in and hand them out so we left them with the front desk. Sunday I went to church and then brunched with Allyson, Colby, & Julie.

Yes, “brunched” is a word.

This is my blog. I make the rules.

After brunch I met up with some other friends and we spent the afternoon wandering around the Botanical Gardens.

On Monday I got up and made cupcakes for the church picnic. It was quite the ordeal. The first batch (chocolate coconut) was a complete failure so I had to remake them since they had been specifically requested. I also made a batch of cinnamon bun cupcakes. I attempted to make icing out of tofu, but that was another disaster. It just wasn’t my day in the kitchen. Instead I stuck to maple cream cheese icing.

I then left the cupcakes on my beautiful table when I headed out to the picnic. It was just one of those days! The picnic was a lot of fun, but it was really hot. After a few hours, we were all pretty tired and headed in for a break. After a nice nap, I met up with Allyson and Colby to take some maternity pictures in the park (me taking pictures of them…just in case anyone was confused on that point) and to eat the forgotten cupcakes. They were delicious!

Tuesday I met up Lauren to celebrate her birthday. Last night I hosted life group at my place. We did a grilled cheese themed dinner complete with an amazing gazpacho in place of the traditional tomato soup.

I haven’t been running in a week, but hopefully that will change tonight if it’s not too hot.

That’s about all there is. I wish I had pictures for you. There were lots of opportunities for them. I have no excuse. I just didn’t feel like dragging the camera out. Maybe next week I’ll be better.

31 May 2012. That's Life.

2 Comments

  1. rachelschain replied:

    Maple Cream Cheese Frosting? I need this. I need this very much.

    • Becca replied:

      It’s so easy! It’s not even really a recipe. Blend one package of cream cheese (8 oz.) with 4-8 tablespoons of maple syrup (depending on how thick/sweet you want it). If you get it sweet enough, but it’s still too thick, SLOWLY (1 teaspoon at a time) add heavy cream to thin it out to a good consistency.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

