Puddle Jumping

I was faced with a dilemma when I got home from work. I wanted to run, but it was chilly and rainy.

At first I was going to just scrap the run completely, but I’d had a pretty stressful day at work and needed to blow off some steam. I have two main mechanisms for coping with stress: eating (bad) and running (good). Today was one of those days where I didn’t want to run. I needed to run. If I didn’t, it was highly likely I’d eat an entire jar of almond butter.

(Yes, this has happened before. More than once. I eat nut butter like some people eat ice cream. Is it really a better option? Depends. No preservatives or chemicals or sugars. I only buy nut butters with 1 ingredient. But at 95 calories per tablespoon, eating an entire jar is rarely a wise decision.)

Anyways, I thought about running on my treadmill, but the rain had rendered my apartment more humid than the Amazon. I knew I wouldn’t last 10 minutes. Instead, I suited up and headed out to brave the rain.

My normal route had become an obstacle course of puddles and wet leaves. This run was just physical, it was mental. It took a lot of focus to avoid slipping and face planting. I’ve already professed my undying love of Vibrams on here, but I’ll say it again. I cannot imagine trying to run in the rain in sneakers. Every other step landed me in a puddle (which was actually really fun. By the end I was purposely running through them.). Sneakers would’ve weighed a ton by the end of the run. Not so with my Vibrams!

Best. Shoes. Ever.

Running was definitely the right decision. I am always amazed at how as little as 30 minutes of exercise can turn my whole mood around. I went in to my run stressed and frustrated. I can assure you it was the last thing I wanted to do, but I forced myself to because I knew I needed it. Within a few blocks, work had been forgotten and I was enjoying the feeling of the cool rain on my bare arms.

And now, some photos. Once again, I am behind.

May 22: Pink

May 23: Technology

24 May 2012. Running.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

