A Mom-filled Weekend

Happy (belated) Mother’s Day to all the moms out there!

This past weekend was one of the best I’ve had in Brooklyn to date. My family (minus Joel) came up on Saturday morning with sunshine in tow (the rain came back this morning).

Our day began with brunch at Applewood.

I’ve been in love with the idea of Applewood for some time now – local, organic, sustainable, slow food – but this was my first time eating there. It did not disappoint. Manda and I shared the lamb sausage with polenta and the buttermilk pancakes. With a side of applewood smoked bacon, of course!

Everyone enjoyed it and we left pleasantly full.

After brunch we headed north to the Brooklyn Bridge Park and Jane’s Carousel. Mom heard about this carousel from one of her patients and has mentioned it at least once a week since. If you find yourself in Brooklyn, it is definitely worth a visit. It is right on the water, sandwiched between the Manhattan Bridge…

…and the Brooklyn Bridge.

The carousel is encased in a glass pavilion that was specially designed for it.

This was actually the first picture I took of it:

I like to shoot in manual mode, not because I’m particularly skilled but because I am a control freak to the extreme. Often times I start shooting without checking all the settings and that’s what comes out. Thankfully I caught it pretty quickly.

For just $2, you can take a ride on this beautifully restored carousel. Which we did.

It really is gorgeous.

It was definitely the highlight of Mom’s weekend.

After our ride, we trekked across the Brooklyn Bridge.

It was hot and crowded, but still beautiful. This should be on everyone’s bucket list.

Thanks to weekend subway detours, we took the long-ish route back to Brooklyn. At this point, I was feeling a bit tired so my camera stayed tucked away in my bag. Sorry!

We wandered through the Grand Army Green Market where Dad picked up some delicious apple cider sourdough bread. Then Dad and I strolled through the rose garden and Japanese garden at the Brooklyn Botanical Gardens. The roses were just starting to bloom, but were already beautiful. I’ll be going back in the near future when they are in full bloom. Mom and Manda relaxed in the shade.

We were all feeling wiped from all the sun and walking so we made our way back to my apartment with a brief detour to People’s Pops for some shaved ice. A deliciously refreshing treat! It was just what we all needed.

For dinner we headed to Bark, another recommendation from one of Mom’s patients. The hot dogs were good, but the true star of the meal was the onion rings. After that, we stopped in Nunu Chocolates for Mom and Bierkraft for Dad before heading to Culture for dessert.

Culture is my favorite place in all of Brooklyn. They make their own Greek yogurt and serve it soft-serve style with dozens of homemade toppings. It is better than ice cream in every way and I could happily eat it every day.

On Sunday we got up and Dad made breakfast (french toast using the sourdough he’d picked up at the farmer’s market) before we headed to church. After church, we enjoyed a quick Mother’s Day lunch at BareBurger (another fave) before Mom, Dad and Manda headed home.

Yes, all you do in New York is walk and eat.

I continued to celebrate Mother’s Day at a baby shower for my beautiful friend Allyson. She’s expecting her first baby (a little boy!) in July. They had a photo booth at the shower which was loads of fun.

Me and the mom-to-be:

The weekend ended with dinner and a crazy documentary (“Dark Days”) with new and newer friends.

All in all, a wonderful weekend.

14 May 2012. No Sleep Til Brooklyn, Photography.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

