Chocolate Raspberry Shake

Around 9:30 p.m., I got hungry which is unusual. Probably had something to do with all the apartment cleaning that was going on around here. And I was craving something sweet which was even more unusual. I thought about stuffing a few dates with some feta and calling it a night, but that just didn’t sound all that appealing. Neither did a banana with nut butter. I wanted a milkshake.

Where did that come from? It’s been months since I’ve had a proper milk shake and while I could’ve gone out for one (this is the city that never sleeps!), I knew the sugar would wreak havoc on my system. With my parents coming up tomorrow, that didn’t seem like the best of ideas.

This delicious “shake” was the end result of my craving. It didn’t actually last long enough for me to get a picture of it. Sorry about that. Maybe next time…but I wanted to go ahead and share it so you all can enjoy it, too! Delicious, natural, and healthy to boot. What more could you ask of a shake?

Ingredients:

  • 1 very ripe, frozen banana (about 100g peeled)
  • ½ milk (I used unsweetened almond)
  • 15-20 frozen raspberries
  • 2T cocoa powder
  • 1T date paste, honey or maple syrup or one medjool date (optional – reduce cocoa to 1T if you choose to omit)
  • ½T flax meal, ground chia, or coconut flour (optional – my banana was not frozen so I added flax meal to thicken it up to a more shake-like consistency)

Throw it all in your blender and let it go until it’s smooth. If you want to be extra healthy, throw in a handful of spinach. You won’t be able to taste it. I promise!

Nutritional Info (calculated using MyFitnessPal.com):

Calories Carbs Sugar Fat Fiber Protein
Per shake (serves 1) 235 53 30 4 13 6

Nutritional Info (without date paste & flax meal and with only 1T cocoa powder):

Calories Carbs Sugar Fat Fiber Protein
Per shake (serves 1) 144 31 14 3 8 3
11 May 2012. Healthy Living, Just Enough, Recipes/Reviews.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

