Inspiration

Sunday’s sunny respite was short lived. Today it was cold and rainy again. I’m seriously considering moving to London at this point. The weather is comparable and the accents are so much nicer.

Today’s photo assignment was “someone that inspires you.”

This proved difficult as pretty much the only person I saw all day was my boss. Nice? Yes. Inspiring? Eh. And of course loads of random people on the subways. Not really what I was looking for on this one.

I was supposed to go to a concert with my friend Rachel (the musician I wrote about yesterday) and was planning on posting a picture of her. However, the universe conspired against us and I didn’t make it. We thought the show was at 7:30 when it was actually at 9:00. I am an 90-year old at heart, trapped in a 26-year old’s body. Seriously, at midnight I turn into a pumpkin. Or Oscar the Grouch. Plus, I was already committed to a 7:00 a.m. prayer meeting on Tuesday. In the end, sleep’s siren song won and I passed on the concert.

All of that just to tell you that Rachel is an incredibly inspiring person who is whole-heartedly pursuing her passion – music. It is rare that you find a person who is so fully alive and engaged. That is inspiring. Most of us content ourselves with mediocrity. A life that is safe, but not necessarily fulfilling. A life that is comfortable, but perhaps lacks passion and excitement. Rachel is not that person. She is chasing her dreams and making them a reality.

But I don’t have a picture of her.

Instead, I give you this photo : a portion of my C. S. Lewis book collection.

For me, it doesn’t get much more inspiring than that.

7 May 2012. Photography, That's Life.

4 Comments

  1. Jeremy Gradney replied:

    I’m a big fan of Lewis too. Perelandra is one of a kind. Nice photo.

    • Becca replied:

      Thanks! I’m a big fan of his. He stuff never gets old. My all-time favorites are “The Great Divorce” and “The Magician’s Nephew.”

  2. rachelschain replied:

    I am honored and humbled, Becca. Truly.

    • Becca replied:

      You truly are one of the most inspirational people I know!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

