Domestic I Am Not

Pride goes before the fall.

I should probably have these words of wisdom framed and hung in my kitchen as a reminder.

Just when I think “I’m starting to get the hang of this whole domesticity thing,” something goes wrong. Horribly, horribly wrong.

Last night I tried to cook up a batch of quinoa. This wasn’t my first attempt at cooking quinoa. It’s something I’ve done many times before. Cooking quinoa is just like cooking rice. You boil it for a bit and then fluff it with a fork. It’s about as basic as it gets when it comes to cooking.

So how did I end up with this?

Most of it was still a soupy, uncooked mess, but the bottom was completely burnt!

Quinoa should not be that drippy. Especially after 35 minutes of simmering!

I’d simmered it on low for about 20 minutes, per usual, but when I checked it, it was still very liquidy (and not burnt at all). So I turned up the heat the tiniest of fractions and left it to simmer for another 15 minutes. And I ended up with an inedible mess.

The only good news? After soaking all night, the pot did come clean!

I think I’ll be sticking to salads for a while.

4 May 2012. That's Life.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

