Saturday = Pancakes

Breakfast is, without a doubt, the best meal of the day.

(Somewhere in Delaware, my mother is rolling her eyes and remembering how she practically had to force-feed me breakfast when I was in middle school. I hated it! For years the only thing I would eat for breakfast was tuna fish sandwiches.)

Thankfully, my taste buds matured somewhere between then and now. Nowadays, breakfast normally consists of eggs or oatmeal. Between the two, my options are endless and I could easily eat them every day ad infinitum and never get bored. Even so, variety is the spice of life and on Saturdays I like to mix things up a bit.

Pancakes have always been one of my favorite breakfasts, but after I gave up refined grains and sugars, I pretty much gave up pancakes, too. Mixes were not an option. I made them from scratch once, using whole wheat flour and they were delicious, but WAY too much work, even for a lazy Saturday. I enjoy cooking, but there were too many easier breakfast options to justify made-from-scratch pancakes. Sad, but not the end of the world.

Then I discovered Kodiak Cakes and suddenly pancakes were back on the menu.

These are some seriously good pancakes. If you didn’t know, you’d never guess they were 100% whole grain. I gave a box to my skeptical parents and they were both pleasantly surprised at how delicious these pancakes are. Just six simple ingredients – whole grain wheat flour, whole grain oat flour, powdered buttermilk, dry honey, baking powder, dried egg whites, & salt. How’s that for real food goodness?

Combine equal parts mix and water (or milk if you prefer) and cook just like normal pancakes. I actually use slightly more mix than liquid because I like thicker pancakes. I cooked them for about one minute per side.

You could go the traditional route and top them with butter and maple syrup, but we all know I’m not much for tradition. Instead, I thawed some mixed berries (fruit!) and mixed them with some 2% Greek yogurt (protein!) and ground flax seed (fiber & omega-3s!).

To top it all off, I drizzled them with coconut butter (like peanut butter, but coconut).

Definitely my favorite weekend breakfast.

28 April 2012. My Favorite Things, Recipes/Reviews.

2 Comments

  1. Falling for Gimicks « Pray. Eat. Run. Write. replied:

    […] Kodiak Cakes […]

  2. Health(ier) Sweeteners « Pray. Eat. Run. Write. replied:

    […] syrup is another great all natural option. Drizzle it on pancakes or try these grain-free maple pecan cupcakes from […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

