It’s a Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood

Around this time last year, I was making plans to leave New York. I’d survived my year in the Big Apple and was over it. The tourists. The noise. The dirty subways. I had had enough and was ready to move on to bigger (er…smaller…) and better things.

God, however, had other plans. Through a series of events that were nothing short of providential, I found myself moving to a beautiful apartment in one of the most desirable neighborhoods in all of New York City: Park Slope, Brooklyn.

There are places you live and there are places you call home.

Brooklyn falls into the later category.

Every day in Brooklyn is a good day, but today was particularly wonderful so I thought I would share.

It began with Starbucks and a long walk through Prospect Park with a friend. Afterwards, we meandered through the Grand Army Greenmarket and I picked up some fresh, local produce (carrots, sweet potatoes, parsley, chives & apples). Farmers’ markets make me supremely happy and a little bit green with envy. When I was in high school, a dear family friend ran several roadside produce stands. I worked at the stands in the summer and am fully convinced that my professional life peaked at the tender age of 17. If you know of a “grown up job” where I would be paid to sit outside in shorts and a tshirt all day whilst reading a book of my own choosing and eating fresh New Jersey peaches to my heart’s content, please let me know. I have excellent references.

After that I went to Fleischer’s to pick up a chicken and some beef bones so I could try my hand at homemade stock. It’s been on my to do list for months and today I decided “why not?” I currently have a pot of what I hope is turning into chicken stock simmering on the stove. It certainly smells good! Beef stock is on the agenda for tomorrow. At some point I will do an entire post on the myriad of benefits that come from choosing meats (and eggs and dairy products) from animals that have been humanely raised. Until then, enjoy perusing the website and try not to be too jealous of my easy access to things like “Ground Beef and Bacon” and “Rockin’ Moroccan Chicken & Lamb Sausage.”

I dropped all my goodies off at my apartment and went to meet another friend for coffee and antiquing at the local flea market. Everything was good until we came across a stand that had a jar filled with baby doll heads…that’s when we decided to call it a day! You just never know what you’ll find at these places.

Of course, no Saturday would be complete without a little experimental baking! I tried my hand at two different scone recipes. Reviews to follow!

I also did something I haven’t done in a looong time: I went wandering with my camera! I’d almost forgotten how much I enjoy photography. And so, I’ll leave you with a few shots from the day’s galavantings.

14 April 2012. No Sleep Til Brooklyn.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

