Baked Oatmeal

I am on an oatmeal kick. You may have deduced this from its frequent appearances in my “Daily Eats” posts.

It all started last week. We had a lot scheduled at the office and I knew I was facing several unusually early mornings. To save myself some time on those mornings, I whipped up a batch of baked oatmeal so I wouldn’t have to worry about making my standard scrambled egg.  After all, those 15 extra minutes of sleep can really make or break your day. Plus, baked oatmeal travels and reheats so nicely and on days when I have to be in the office before 8:00 (I normally come in at 9:00), I prefer to eat my breakfast at my desk.

Anyways, the recipe I had served 8 which was WAAYYY too much so I cut it in half and life was good for a few days, but by day 4 of apple-rhubarb baked oatmeal, I was over it. I wanted something different. It wasn’t the baked oatmeal’s fault. It was delicious. I just kept thinking of different combinations I wanted to try. I was frustrated with my 4 serving recipe but since it called for one egg, I didn’t see how I could reduce it further to just a single serving.

Enter liquid egg whites.¹

Don’t get me wrong. I have nothing against eggs. I love eggs, yolk and all. Scrambled. Poached. Over easy. Hard boiled. Deviled. They are wonderful! But they make it awfully hard to halve a recipe.

I had some egg whites left over from a brownie recipe (which I still owe you a review of…I apologize for my slacker ways) that I wanted to use up before they went bad. That’s when I decided to try my hand at a single serving of baked oatmeal. The first try was good. Second, after some tweaking, was better. And third was the charm!

Ingredients:

  • ¼ C old-fashioned rolled oats (not the instant kind)
  • ½ C skim milk
  • 1 tbsp. liquid egg whites (you can probably just use the white of one egg, too, but I haven’t tried)
  • 1 tsp. honey
  • ½ tsp. spices (cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, cardamom, allspice, etc., but I wouldn’t do more than ½ tsp. total)
  • ¼ tsp. vanilla extract
  • ¼ tsp. baking powder
  • ¼ C add-ins

Instructions:

  • Grease your baking dish (these work perfectly, but so would any 16 oz. oven-safe mug/bowl)
  • Mix everything together and pour into greased baking dish
  • Bake at 325°F for 50 minutes
  • Serve warm with ½ C milk (optional)

I should note that when I take my cup o’ oatmeal out of the oven, it looks beautiful and fluffy, but after cooling for a bit, the center caves in. This does not bother me because I am just going to eat it, but I felt I should give fair warning in case someone actually wants to try this. You didn’t do anything wrong. It’s just the nature of the beast.

Sad, saggy center.

The best part of this recipe is its versatility. The possibilities are endless. I’ve been stuck on pumpkin simply because I distractedly opened two cans and need to get rid of it (¼ C pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice as your “spices”), but plan to change that up soon. I see banana and almond butter baked oatmeal in my future. With maple syrup instead of honey. Or blueberries, coconut, and walnuts. Or raspberries and cocoa powder. I will make notes in my “Daily Eats” posts when I try a new combination.

Nutrition without add-ins or serving milk (calculated using MyFitnessPal.com):

  • Calories: 171
  • Carbs: 29
  • Sugar: 6
  • Saturated Fat: 0
  • Fiber: 4
  • Protein: 10

Pumpkin Spice Nutrition without serving milk:

  • Calories: 191
  • Carbs: 34
  • Sugar: 8
  • Saturated Fat: 0
  • Fiber: 7
  • Protein: 11

_________________________

1. I do not recommend Original Egg Beaters or any of their flavored varieties. The 100% egg whites are fine, but all of their other products are supplemented with vaguely defined ingredients like “natural flavors” and “colors” and “spices” and “vegetable gums.” This is a personal preference and goes along with my real food experiment, but I wanted to throw it out there in case any of you were unaware of what was in Egg Beaters (or that you can buy plain old 100% egg whites, which I was until recently).

2 February 2012. Just Enough.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

