Overdue update

15 days. No added sugar (but for those darn cranberries!). And I lived to tell the tale!

To be honest, it wasn’t as difficult as I’d expected. Going into the no sugar challenge, I was bracing for the worst. What on earth was I supposed to eat for 14 days in this overly sugar-saturated world? I had visions of myself gnawing on raw carrots day in and day out until I finally lost it and jumped the counter at the Dunkin’ Donuts that I unavoidably pass every day (twice a day) on my way to and from work.

Thankfully, that didn’t happen!

That’s not to say there haven’t been moments. The dish of chocolates in my office’s reception area. The lemon meringue pie at a friend’s birthday. The complementary Bellini that came with my omelet at brunch on Sunday. Thankfully, these cravings were fleeting and I was able to either ignore them or satisfy them with a sugar-free substitute. (For example, on Saturday I REALLY wanted a milkshake so I whipped up a smoothie using mango, yogurt, and a frozen banana. It wasn’t Shake Shack, but it did the trick!)

When I started, I thought I would be dying for sugar by day 14. I actually made up a batch of fudge (Clean Fudge) and stuck it in the freezer before I started so I’d have something readily available the moment the challenge ended.  I figured I’d be eating it for breakfast, but I haven’t touched it. I’ve continued with my sweetener-free coffee habits and actually prefer it that way now. Before, when I’d crave something sweet, it was a cookie or a brownie. Now, more often than not, it’s a banana or apple. And I like it that way.

I’m not against (natural) sweeteners and will start incorporating them back into my diet, but, for the most part, I think I will continue to keep them to a minimum. I like that my energy levels are consistent throughout the day and that I don’t fall into the post-lunch food coma that plagues so many. I don’t want my taste buds to again become desensitized to the wonderful natural sweetness found in fruits, vegetables, and dairy. Foods really do taste better without sugar!

18 January 2012. Just Enough.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

