Sweet Potatoes with Coconut, Pomegranate, & Lime

I recently discovered the joy of fresh pomegranates. I’d had pomegranate juice and even a pomegranate martini, but had never eaten just plain pomegranate arils (they’re like tiny, juicy, seeded grapes). A few weeks ago I saw one in the grocery store and thought “Why not?”

This is a bad habit of mine. I buy a food that looks so pretty on display in the store only to get it home and realize I have no idea what to do with it. I did this once with a quince only to discover that they aren’t good for much of anything except making jam and quince paste and that to make either of those you need several quinces (an investment I was unwilling to make at $4/quince) and a whole lot of sugar.

Anyways, I found myself standing in my kitchen staring at this beautiful reddish pink fruit without the slightest idea how to open it or what I would find inside. Did I turn to my trusty Better Homes and Gardens cookbook? No. Did I call my far more domesticated sister? No. Did I ask Google for advice? No. I took a knife and went at it. A good while later, I had a cup filled with arils and a kitchen covered in sticky juice. (Note: at this point I called my sister to brag about my accomplishment and she promptly told me the proper way to dissect  my next one.)

My next conundrum: what to do with all the seeds? Pinterest to the rescue! While absentmindedly browsing one lazy afternoon, I came across this recipe: Sweet Potatoes with Coconut, Pomegranate, & Lime. I had coconut milk and shredded. I had sweet potatoes (thanks, Dad!), I had pomegranates. And suddenly I had dinner plans!

As far as I’m concerned, this recipe is a winner. I came home from work, started the oven and set about changing out of my work clothes and into running clothes. Once it was heated, I threw in my sweet potatoes, set the timer and hopped on the treadmill. I finished my run and stretching just as the time went off. Since i wasn’t overly concerned with presentation, I peeled the potatoes and mashed them together with all of the ingredients. I then divided them up into single serving sizes for storage and sprinkled arils on the bit I intended to eat right then. It was easy, delicious and didn’t make much of a mess. Plus, it is incredible easy make just one or two servings if that’s all you need.

Summary:

  • Taste: A+
  • Ease: A+
  • Time: A- (about 60 minutes start to finish, but only 10-15 is hands on)
  • Clean up: A-
  • Serving size: A
10 January 2012. Recipes/Reviews.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

